What do I think of the Drinks With Authors mixer? I think it was a huge improvement from last year. There was certainly a larger turnout than last year. They had to use the whole conference room rather than half of the room. They had many more bartenders this year than last year so people wouldn’t have to wait in line for an hour to get their drinks.

Although, I think that I need to point out that if you have your bartenders taking debit payments on a tablet that uses mobile technology in a place where tens-of-thousands of attendants are tying up the bandwidth, you are flirting with disaster. It took at least five minutes to process each payment. I am just glad that I brought cash this year.

I suggest to the authors that they should still bring a poster to list their name and works. They should setup shop at their own table, please don’t tie up your time talking with other authors that you see at all of the conventions any way. Your purpose is to connect with your current fans and to meet new fans. At the begining of the mixer. I took some time to walk around looking for authors that I have never heard of before. They were hard to find. Last year, I met a new author and I bought his book. I am looking forward to his next release. At the end of this mixer I met Scott Lynch the Author of “The Lies of Locke Lamora” and I bought his book on audible. It has been great so far.

Finally, I got to meet one of my favorite authors Terry Brooks. I have been reading his works for twenty-seven years. The man is really cool. I said my hellos, then I did my best to give everyone else a chance to meet him. I was a little star-struck. Most of us fans just sat at his table and listened to him talk about his life as a writer. Honestly, this pretty much made my conference. Either way, I hope that I can meet a few of my other favorites at Comicon. Plus, I am looking forward to catching a few author classes.

Before The Mixer

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

The Beginning of Drinks With Authors

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Patrick Rothefus MC’s The Auction

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Terry Brooks Meets With Fans



I originally had a selfie video where Mr. Brooks says “hi” to my twitter followers. But I had to delete some video at the request of others. Never record live. You never know when you are going to be told to delete. Easier to edit later. At least I finally got to meet him and tell him how I have been a fan since I was 13!

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

My Lament

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Meeting Scott Lynch the Author of “The Lies of Locke Lamora”. I actually downloaded the audiobook on my way home from the convention. It has been pretty awesome so far.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Recap on the night.

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

One thought on “Drinks With Authors 2017

Leave a Reply

